I’m the king of the castle

By: pixbyshumbles

Oct 23 2012

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: October 2012

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/3.5
Focal Length:18mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/1600 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 600D

You’ve probably had enough of the street art for now. Here, to get us back on track, is one of my favourite photos from the week we were away. It’s an aerial shot of a little town called Serón whose claim to fame is a rebuilt castle.

The castle itself is a bit lacking in authenticity or spirit or something, it’s been rendered to within an inch of its life and the tower has been painted the Spanish equivalent of magnolia (sort of yellowy colour, you see it everywhere).

It’s just not …

… beautiful.

Or alive, I couldn’t put my finger on it. It’s almost been Disneyfied, you know?

I appreciate that had they not rebuilt it we’d have been visiting a large mound of stones, possibly with a pair of feet sticking out the bottom seeing as there’s a bunch of houses built right beneath its walls, but I couldn’t help feeling they stripped it away its credibility.

Anyway, now that I’ve moaned about it I would like to redeem myself by saying it’s a very nice town and well worth a visit, we got there during siesta but still enjoyed the wander around.

What's the craic?

