Stabilisers for Beds

By: pixbyshumbles

Apr 25 2012

Category: April 2012

3 Comments

Aperture:f/10
Focal Length:29mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 600D

Sorry for the silence folks, it’s been a busy few days what with a thesis to read and the fact that I seem to have slipped into my own softly lit, fuzzy world here on the bog.

Let’s catch you up.

The weekend was spent in the company of a great friend who I’ve known for … gasp, going on 20 years now, can it be that long?! On Saturday we decided to take the furries to Trá Buí (Yellow Beach). Longterm (that sounds like I have an audience of prisoners, lifers!) readers of this blog will recognise the name Yellow Beach. The Brazilian and I go there a lot, in fact we were there less than one month ago.

So, it’s impossible to get lost, right?

Wrong.

Your intrepid explorer was at the wheel, daydreaming about the itinerary for the day while setting the world to rights, and somehow took a wrong turn, heading straight for the Enniscrone Seaweed Baths. Well it was obviously playing on my mind since it’s been almost two years since I sunk into the slime.

‘No bother’, I trumpeted, ‘I know a short cut’.

Oh boy.

All Sligo back roads/lanes look the same, strewn with bits of dung and with a foot of grass growing in the middle of the road …

We were 30 minutes late meeting The Magnetic One on the beach. Doh! Quick stroll in the bracing wind and we were ready for a bowl of seafood chowder at The Beach Bar at Aughris Head. It is divine. People, get yourselves on your bikes/trains/cars/donkeys and get that inta ya. It’ll do you good.

The seaweed bath was the next stop and I could wax lyrical about that for hours, so relaxing, so good for your bodily aches and pains …

… and so befuddling to the brain, it seems. Here’s the crux of the matter. Since I stepped out of that bath on Saturday evening I have been odd.

Distinctly odd.

I’ll give you an example. Yesterday morning something happened to me that hasn’t occurred since I was about, oooh, four years old.

Drumroll …

I fell out of the bed

Landing on my face.

We have a huge bed. It’s a super king which requires a combination of brute force and dexterity to dress it. I mean, it’s not like I was in one of those student single beds, parked with my arse hanging dangerously close to the edge.

Also, I was alone at the time.

And wide awake.

Whaddya make o’ that then?

3 comments on “Stabilisers for Beds”

  1. Obviously your counter-weight (i.e arse) is no longer sufficient to keep you bed-locked… perhaps a search on Ebay might locate a seat-belt type restrainer suited to super-king-size leabas! Or just get Dr Tierney to sleep under the duvet on top of you… !

  2. An odd thing have happened me too, since the seaweed bath – will mail you. Was a great weekend tho’; thanks again. And in fairness, you only took a wrong turn because yours truly was having a gabfest beside you.


What's the craic?

