Stationery Whore

By: pixbyshumbles

Mar 20 2012

Category: March 2012

Leave a comment

When I was in school I used to swap pencil cases with a friend.

With another I collected fancy paper – for anyone who didn’t grow up in Ireland in the 1980s, fancy paper consisted of notelets with little flowers and girls on’em – no, not those kind of girls. There were lots of sets you could collect, Victoria Plum was my favourite. It featured a drawing of a little girl sporting a pink dress with a snowdrop flower on her head (don’t ask me why), I would have donated a kidney for VP paraphernalia.

But my real addicion was smelly rubbers.

Erasers.

Not Durex (which is featuring rather heavily here in the recent past, what does that tell ya, eh?!).

Obviously.

Oooh, there were rubbers shaped like coke cans that smelt like actual Coca-cola (which I wasn’t allowed to drink, “Do you want rotten teeth? Do you?”).

Heaven. And others that smelt like all manner of banned sweeties. Sherbet, orange, chocolate.

This is where my obsession with stationery began.

This cutesy notelet set was bought by a friend with a similar habit, her house is coming down with really cool folders, colourful post-its and pretty pens.

It’s clearly the 80s’ fault.

What's the craic?

