What makes your heart sing?

By: pixbyshumbles

Feb 02 2012

Category: February 2012

Leave a comment

I’m doing a365+1 photo project at the moment on Facebook with a bunch of other snappers and we’re working off a list of inspiration for every day of the year.

Today’s theme is “What makes your heart sing?”.

So hard to choose an image for it and it got me thinking.

What is it that gives me that real surge? An unshakeable feeling that life just doesn’t get any better?

There are so many. In no particular order:

* Spending time with friends and family, I always drive away from seeing friends  and just feel fantastic, there’s something very, very strengthening about being with good people, people you can trust. Having a laugh, sharing stories, even being a shoulder to cry on. It’s precious.

* Hanging out with The Brazilian. He’s always great fun. Some of our best moments have involved wellies, dogs, a beach and a bar of chocolate!

* Music. Don’t you just love it when your favourite mix of songs come on the stereo, iPod or th’oul fashioned wireless? Isn’t just heaven to crank it up and screech your lungs out?!

* Writing. I get a real kick out of this blog. The act of expressing myself, hopefully eloquently, is unbeatable.

* Likewise with photography. Obviously I’m no David Bailey. I won’t be setting the art world alight any time soon. But the sense of calm that I get with a camera in my hands is amazing. Taking photos on a crisp cold day like today is a bonus, maybe because it so rarely happens!

* Walking. Being out there even if it’s freezing cold and pelting down with rain, it just makes me feel alive.

So, I ask you.

What makes your heart soar?

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, the song on the iPod is the very cool “Rumble” by Link Wray, youtube it!

What's the craic?

