One more cup of coffee …

By: pixbyshumbles

Nov 03 2011

Category: November 2011

Leave a comment

Coffee. It’s my fuel. Well, coffee and chocolate … and wine. Anyway, without coffee I am a grumpy shadow of myself. I function on all cylinders when I’ve had my two mugs a day. I take it black, no sugar. None of your frappuccino, chocolate sprinkles or mochas for me. It never ceases to amaze me when I go to a café in rural parts of Ireland, ask for a coffee and get handed some burnt muck from one of those old fashioned percolator jugs. Or worse … the day I moved from the eastcoast to Sligo we stopped on the way for a sandwich in a small town. The café charged Dublin prices but the “coffee” was Maxwell House (unstirred) with off-the-boil water flung on top. I hate instant coffee. Not one bit. And the sandwich? We asked for ham and cheese and got Easi-Singles plastic cheese and Spam masquerading as ham. The salad was a slice of tomato and a sprig of lettuce layered with salad cream. We never went back needless to say! Anyway, the lyrics below are to a song called You’re the cream in my coffee which, to be truthful, I heard for the first time today. It was sung by many but the version I tuned into was warbled by Marlene Dietrich as a tribute to Lucy (the star of I Love Lucy) and Desi Arnaz.

You’re the cream in my coffee,
You’re the salt in my stew;
You will always be my necessity– I’d be lost without you.
You’re the starch in my collar,
You’re the lace in my shoe;
You will always be my necessity– I’d be lost without you.
Most men tell love tails,
And each phrase dovetails.
You’ve heard each known way,
This way is my own way.
You’re the sail of my love boat,
You’re the captain and crew;
You will always be my necessity– I’d be lost without you.
You give life savor,
Bring out its flavor;
So this is clear, dear,
You’re my Worcestershire, dear.
You’re the sail of my love boat,
You’re the captain and crew;
You will always be my necessity– I’d be lost without you. 

 

What's the craic?

